- Libraries list
- Accounts list
The University of Louisville Libraries arrange trials to databases that we do not subscribe to in order to assess whether they meet the needs of our users and add value to our collection. Please review our FAQs about trials below before submitting a request. If you and your suggested resource meet the requirements for submitting a request, use the Trial Database Request form to do so. Please plan to fill out an evaluation form after each trial. Current databases available for trial are listed below and on the Libraries A-Z list of databases. If you have additional questions about trials, please contact Claudene Sproles or Angel Clemons.
The Libraries accept database trial requests from current UofL faculty, staff, and students. Most trials are initiated by librarians working in conjunction with database vendors.
Databases must be appropriate for the curriculum at UofL. Databases that are relevant to a broad number of users are preferred, though the Libraries will consider databases that may be used only by specific disciplines.
Most trials allow for a 30-day period to review the resource.
You will be contacted by the Electronic Resources Librarian with information on how and when to access the trial.
Trial requests can be denied due to several factors. It may be as simple as the vendor does not offer trial access to their databases. If the database does not add value to our collection or is not appropriate for the UofL curriculum, your request might also be denied. The Libraries do not support trial requests for personal use or repeated trials of the same database. A list of databases trialed in the past can be found below.
The Libraries decide to purchase database subscriptions based on interest, cost, and usability. If the database is not well used during the trial period or if the cost is prohibitive, the trial will likely not result in a subscription being purchased. Given funding constraints, most trials are not purchased. The Libraries currently subscribe to over 350 databases in a variety of subject areas designed to meet the needs of our users.
Your feedback is an important factor in determining how to allocate our resources. Please leave feedback after a trial by submitting our Trial Database Evaluation Form.
There are no databases currently available for trial.
* Indicates that the Libraries subscribed to the database after the trial period ended.
2023
2022
2021
2020
2019