Skip to Main Content
Law Library

Foreign Law: European Union

Introduction to foreign national legal research and resources.

European Union legal system

There are 27 member countries in the European Union and 23 official languages. The EU was founded in 1958 as the European Economic Community (EEC) in an effort to increase cooperation and avoid conflict between the 6 founding countries. In 1993 the name changed to the European Union to reflect an increasing spectrum of competencies.

European national law

Each country within the EU has its own legal system and laws. The following resources provide good starting points for researching the laws of many of these nations.