Navigating our Databases
In addition to print and e-books, UofL also has subscriptions to databases which host a vast array of articles, essays, historical and current newspapers, videos, scripts, chronologies and more. Use a combination of these resources to better understand the history of Negro League Baseball.
Newspapers
Here are a list of UofL databases and guides for navigating resources containing historical and current newspapers.
Pro-tip: try searching the newspapers for news articles and book reviews on specific athletes, teams, or unions.
-
African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
Articles from 19th and 20th century African American newspapers on broad topics such as history, culture and daily life. 1827 - 1998.
-
Early American NewspapersFull-text of more than 700 historical American newspapers from 1690-1876.
-
Ethnic NewsWatchCurrent resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Also includes scholarly, full-text articles for area and ethnic studies, such as Jewish studies, African American studies, and Hispanic American studies. 1959 - present.
-
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Louisville Courier JournalFull-text access to the entire contents for the Courier-Journal from 1830-2000.
-
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Louisville Defender
Historical newspaper providing news, first-hand accounts, and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of Louisville, KY during the period 1951-2010.
-
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times
Full-text searchable issues of the daily New York Times newspaper, considered a national "newspaper of record." 1851 - 2021.
-
US NewsstreamCurrent news service, including Courier - Journal (Louisville, Ky.), New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, and more.
Scholarly Articles
In addition to historical newspapers, here is a list of UofL databases that feature scholarship (including peer-reviewed publications and dissertations).
Pro-Tip: Pay attention to (and search within) those journals and/or authors with more than one relevant article in your search results.
-
Archives Catalog
Collection-level information for some of the holdings of University of Louisville Archives & Special Collections (comprised of Photographic Archives, Rare Books, University Archives & Records Center, and Digital Initiatives).
-
JSTOR
Full-text journal articles relating to African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology and statistics. Provides access to millions of high-quality images of artistic works, cultural objects, and the built environment previously available on Artstor Digital Library. 1600s - present.
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (Full-Text)
The world's most comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from thousands of universities dating back to 1939.
-
Google ScholarSearches scholarly literature in many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions.
-
Project MUSEMulti-disciplinary database of articles, with some full-text coverage. Areas covered include area and ethnic Studies; art and architecture; creative writing; education; film, theater, and performing arts; history; language and linguistics; library science and publishing; literature; medicine and health; music; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and mathematics; social sciences; studies by time period; women’s studies, gender, and sexuality. 1955 - present.
Database Snapshot
Screenshot of results listing within the African American Newspapers (1827-1998) database for a search on "Louisville Unions."