UofL Libraries: HIST 528/612 Recent American History 1929-1945: Online Databases

Instructions

To open a database on this page in a separate tab, right click and select "Open in new tab." Otherwise, it will open in this window.

Online Databases -- Mostly Secondary Sources

America: History & Life
Limited to 6 users at a time. Citations and abstracts for journal articles related to US and Canadian history 1895-2019
EBSCO Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database with over 8,500 full journals, indexing/abstracts for over 12,500 periodicals as well as books, reports, and conference proceedings.
JSTOR
Full-text journal articles relating to African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology and statistics. Provides access to millions of high-quality images of artistic works, cultural objects, and the built environment previously available on Artstor Digital Library. 1600s - present.
ProQuest Direct
Cross search of all ProQuest databases covering a wide variety of topics.

Online Databases -- Primary Sources

Note: These databases include primary sources, but remember you cannot always determine if a specific document is a primary source simply because it is found in a database that contains some primary sources.

Readex AllSearch
Searches across all available Readex collections, including newspapers, books, pamphlets, government publications, and more.
US Newsstream
Current news service, including Courier - Journal (Louisville, Ky.), New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, and more.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S., this collection includes document projects and archives. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. 1600s - 2000.
African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
Articles from 19th and 20th century African American newspapers on broad topics such as history, culture and daily life. 1827 - 1998.
North American Women's Letters & Diaries
Includes the experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Collections of letters and diaries begun before 1950 are included until they are complete otherwise coverage runs from 1600s - 1950.
Oral History Center
UofL's Oral History Center collects, preserves, and provides access to interviews that document the history of the greater Louisville area as well as the University of Louisville. The Center has conducted thousands of interviews and is in the process of digitizing the audio and transcripts. Although most interviews were recorded after 1968, some include first-hand accounts of events in 1929-1945.
American History, 1493-1945
Over 60,000 primary source documents from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History that document American History from 1493 - 1945.
University of Louisville Digital Collections
Historic photographs, newspapers, books, and more from the University of Louisville's rare collections.
University of Louisville Digital Collections
UofL's Digital Collections includes rare and unique images, documents, and oral histories from our archives, special collections, and other campus units. 1150 - present. Click on Search in the gray bar at the top. On the next page, click on Advanced Search at the top of the page and then open the red Search By Date link near the bottom left of the light gray box at top to limit your search to the desired time frame..

Call us

Library Accounts

UofL Accounts

HIST 528/612 Recent American History 1929-1945: Online Databases

Instructions

Online Databases -- Mostly Secondary Sources

Online Databases -- Primary Sources

system-wide footer