top of page Skip to Main Content
Archives & Special Collections (ASC)

Documenting Louisville Municipal College: Linda Wilson LMC Collection

Linda Wilson Louisville Municipal College Collection

This 6.25 linear foot collection consists of materials collected by Linda Wilson, Associate Director, Community Relations, University of Louisville, on Louisville Municipal College, its alumni and reunions, and some other pertinent topics. It was donated to the University Archives and Records Center in 2000 to complement the existing LMC records held here. There are school newspapers, textbooks, class photographs, scrapbooks, theater and music programs, commencement items, reunion materials and oral histories. Of particular note is the amount of material related to student life, such as athletics, theater and music, and Greek life.

Oversized Memorabilia (Box 1)
.375 linear foot

David White Memorabilia, 1948-1952, 1977-1981 (Box 2)
.25 linear foot
Includes student handbook, commencement items, football programs, fraternity and sorority items, choir program, photographs, and reunion materials

World War II Soldier’s Exhibit, 1940s, 1999 (Box 3)
.25 linear foot
Includes photos, scrapbook, and other memorabilia

Scrapbook of Horace P. Wise, 1947-1951 (Box 4)
.25 linear foot
Includes programs, printed material, and clippings related to commencement and baccalaureate, sorority and fraternity activities, athletics, and other college events

Louisville Municipal College Programs, 1932- 1951 (Box 5)
.50 linear foot
Commencement and baccalaureate programs, athletic programs, musical and theatre programs, Panhellenic programs, college newspaper

Photographs, 1935-1949  (Box 6)
.50 linear foot
Class photographs and photographs of organizations, athletics, and individuals

Textbooks (Box 7)

  • Dana, James D. Manual of Mineralogy and Lithology. New York: John Wiley & Sons, 1880
  • Elson, Henry W. Modern Times and the Living Past. New York: American Book Co., 1935
  • Holy Bible. New York: American Bible Society, 1872
  • Hotze, C.L. First Lessons in Physics. St. Louis: Central Publishing Co., 1875
  • Key to Ray's New Higher Arithmetic. Cincinnati: Van Antwerp, Bragg & Co., 1881
  • Prescott, William H. Biographical and Critical Miscellanies. Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott, 1875
  • Steele, J. Dorman. Fourteen Weeks in Physics. New York: A.S. Barnes & Co., 1878

Scrapbook Materials, flat box, 1932-1947  (Box 8)
.375 linear foot
Photographs and memorabilia

LMC Exhibit and Reunion, September 17-18, 1993 (Box 9)
.50 linear foot
Planning documents, photographs, clippings, questionnaires, correspondence, and memorabilia Reception for Coach Dwight Reed, May 1994

Video Oral Histories, 2003-2004 (Box 10)
.75 linear foot

  • Alexander, Maude and Jesse, July 29, 2004
  • Allen, Elmer Lucille, April 3, 2003
  • Brown, Willa, May 9, 2003
  • Cole, Lattimore, June 23, 2004
  • McCravy, Newton (Jr.), April 11, 2003
  • McMillan, Joe, April 18, 2003
  • Morton, Hattie, June 24, 2004
  • Wise, Horace, April 9, 2003
  • Wright, Margaret, April 16, 2003
  • Unlabeled, possibly McMillan

Oral History Transcripts (Box 18)
.25 linear feet

  • Alexander, Jesse & Maude
  • Allen, Elmer Lucille
  • Brown, Willa
  • Cole, Lattimore
  • Gleason, Elizabeth Atkins
  • McCravy, Newton (Jr.)
  • McMillan, Joe
  • Morton, Andrew
  • Morton, Willie
  • Wise, Horace
  • Wright, Margaret

Other (Box 10)
"Louisville Municipal College -- A Video Tribute," (8 copies)

Annual Bulletins and Reports (all photocopies), 1931-1946  (Box 12)
.25 linear foot

Winifred Wise Scrapbook, 1938-1948 (Box 13)
.375 linear foot
Scrapbook materials documenting Louisville Municipal College including photographs, coursework, clippings, programs, and written "History of the Class of 1947"

Scrapbook (Box 14)
.375 linear foot
Clippings, programs and photographs, mainly of football; Bantam, "College Blah," theatre program

LMC Reunion Exhibit (Box 15)
.375 linear foot

Oversized (Miscellaneous) Material, 1967, 1995 (Box 16)
.375 linear foot

Photograph Negatives (Box 17)
.25 linear foot
Photographic negatives from LMC reunions

Discover. Create. Succeed.