Finding Data and Statistics: Urban Planning and Housing

Data on selected housing and demographic characteristics, conducted biennially and dates back to 1973.

Set of data from the 1985+ American Housing Survey that categorizes housing units by income, accounting for adjusted median income, fair market rent, and poverty income.

Data on new housing units authorized by building permits.

Data & statistics provided by the Bureau of Transportation Statistics. Searchable by mode of transportation; region; and subject.

Monthly labor force statistics and questions covering the economic and social-well being of its sample. Other topics include health insurance coverage, volunteerism, and school enrollment in supplemental questions.

HUD USER dataset on fair market rents.

Allows users to download and analyze over 383,000 US and international time series.

Create maps of data found in FRED.

Measures average price changes in repeat sales or refinancings of the same properties. Provides monthly and quarterly reports as well their respective datasets and more.

Contains data and reports on housing affordability for families and individuals, collected from the Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP).

Residential housing patterns from the US Census Bureau gathered from the decennial census.

Original datasets including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, and microdata on topics such as multifamily housing stock, the public housing population, and housing discrimination.

Selective access to HUD's Low-Income Housing Tax Credit Database.

Contains a variety of surveys regarding manufacturing and construction, each of which contain their own reports and historical data.

Provides several microdata series related to demographic data. Includes the decennial census, American Community Survey, Current Population Survey, international data, and other MPC projects.

National and regional data on single-family homes for sale and sold, as well as information on prices and other statistics.

The longest running longitudinal household survey, this study began in 1958 and has collected data from 18,000 individuals within 5,000 families on employment, income, health, marriage, wealth, and more.

A survey conducted in responses to the Chicago Housing Authority's 2000 Plan for Transformation to gather data on the impact of those who were relocated during this project.

Data on US residential real estate prices, tracking value changes nationally as well as within 20 metropolitan regions.

The SIPP gathers data on economic well-being, education, health insurance, childcare, family relationships, assets, and more, and measures how these variables change over time.