top of page Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bridwell|Art Library

ART 563: Studio III

This guide will help you use library research tools to find information and inspiration for your research in healthcare design.

How do you get started with research?

  • Gather general and background information about your subject of interest
  • Narrow your topic
  • Form research questions
  • Develop your thesis and argument

Go beyond Wikipedia! Consult resources that are subject-specific, vetted by scholars and experts in that field, and updated on a regular basis.

Oxford Art Online

An authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resource which includes comprehensive overviews of art periods/movements, terminology, and artist biographies with detailed bibliographies

  • Includes the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove® Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists

  • Includes over 200,000 articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as over 19,000 images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

The Art Library has a large reference collection with encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other general reference works intended to provide background information on a topic. You'll find essential information on artists, art periods, techniques, and terminology that may be new to you as well as detailed bibliographies for further reading.

Discover. Create. Succeed.