top of page Skip to main content
Bridwell|Art Library

Artists Books: # - C

# - 0


 +/- One Percent / Marginalia Press / Art Library Rare Books Collection: N 7433.4 .M36 O64 2010 box 14.2

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Limited ed. of 40 copies, signed by the creators. "±OnePercent was created by graduate students under the direction of Professor Lynn Sures. It is the first artists' book to be published by the founding members of Marginalia Press, the graduate press of the MA Art and the Book program at the Corcoran College of Art and Design. Comprised of three books in a multi-layered, nested structure, the work contains traditional letterpress, as well as contemporary digital, collagraph, screen printed and etched imagery and text rendered on a combination of mill-made and handmade papers, and cloth. The binding techniques of the work follow an arc from tradtional to modern, including ancient Coptic, multi-faceted accordion/flag, and sculptural spiral fold methods."--Colophon.

image coming soon

2nd hand reading: William Kentridge / Edited by C.T. Onions ; authors William Kentridge, William Little, H. W. Fowler, Jessie Coulson. / Art Library Rare Books Collection: N 7396 .K45 A4 2014

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Reproduction of an altered book created by drawing and painting in a copy of The shorter Oxford English dictionary on historical principles, second edition, volume I, A-M, with pages re-ordered. "The shorter Oxford English dictionary on historical principles, prepared by William Little, H.W. Fowler, J. Coulson, revised and edited by C.T. Onions, second edition volume I, A-M."

image coming soon

3 Damsels: a reliable fiction: artist book / Guylaine Couture / Art Library Rare Books Collection: N 7433.4 .C665 T57 2015

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Title from booklet inserted in sleeve behind the photograph of the three damsels. Using a cellular binding structure, each cell portrays a moment in the life of the three young women. Each woman has a distinct color thread to assist in following her story. "Materials and techniques used: book covers, book pages, library cards, photography, color ink, acrylic, block printing ink, thread, handprint." Unique artists' book signed by the artist.

image coming soon

[4 and 20] / Judy Sgantas / Art Library Rare Books Collection: N 7433.4 .S415 F68 2010 box 12.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Edition limited to 25 copies, signed by the artist., Art Library has copy 8.  Cover illustrated with blackbird cut-outs."Pop-up-[book]- ink, markers, colour pencil, acetate, paper, solid core matt board. 2 pages. 12 x 18 inches open"--from 23 Sandy Gallery website, viewed Feb. 25, 2014..

image of cover of four and twenty by judy sgantas     image of inside of four and twenty by judy sgantas

10 stories 50 years later / Longwood University / Art Library Rare Books Collection: LC 214.22 .V8 T45 2014 box 13.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"This magazine was produced in Spring 2014 by students in ART 254, ART 295, and Honors ENGL 400 at Longwood University, Farmville, Virginia. "Spring 2014, Vol.1"--Cover.

image coming soon

28 days: a deck of cards / Bea Nettles / Art Library Rare Books Collection: TR 654 .N4195 1991 box 9.1 env. 1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"Enclosed are 28 photographic cards with images that metaphorically represent some of the emotions and physical sensations of the menstrual cycle. Medical text is intermixed with the artists's [sic] personal statements about her cycle. The cards are a blend of mystery, honesty, and humor, presented with the hope that they can open discussion on this universal, but practically invisible female experience. The ideal presentation for these images is to lay them out in a continuous circle on a round table. In this way the transition from Day 28 to Day 1 of the following cycle is continuous, as it is in real life ... a familiar spiral that continues for women for perhaps 40 years."--Folder.

image of cover of 28 days by bea nettles     image of inside of 28 days by bea nettles

80 Flowers / Louis Zukofsky / Art Library Rare Books Collection: PS 3549 .U47 E36 1978

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"Limited edition of 80 signed and dated by artist, the Art Library has copy 37." Issued in a case.

image coming soon

365 days: photographs / Julius Friedman, Kevin Titzer. / Art Library Rare Books Collection: TR 647 .F756 2005 box 7.2 

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

One-of-a-kind. In a portfolio box made by sculptor Kevin Titzer. Signed and dated January 1, 2005 by the artist. Each photograph is titled and dated."... a photo journal, capturing each day in one photograph. The final 365 photographs represent where Friedman was that day, physically and mentally. The photographs were taken with a Cannon digital camera, printed on Epson matte paper with an Epson printer."--Artist's description.
 

image of 365 days by julius friedman and others     image of photos inside 365 days by julius friedman and others

IX XI MMI / Mac McGill, Mark Wagner, Sara Parkel. / Art Library Rare Books Collection: N 7433.4 .M3343 N56 2003

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"In the fall of 2001, while the smoke and dust from the World Trade Center was settling over New York CIty, Mac McGill was creating this series of images. The original drawings were acquired by the Library of Congress. Designed and relief printed by Mark Wagner. Bound by Sara Parkel. Fifty hardcover copies are numbered I to L. One hundred softcover copies are numbered 1 to 100"--Colophon.

image coming soon

A


Abacus now: footnotes to Indecent pleasures, & observations on fine book printing, book-collecting, & matters personal, including how to survive in the computer age: with a checklist of the first twenty-four titles in Targ Editions / William Targ / Art Library Rare Books Collection: Z 278 .T268 1984 box 5.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"The purpose of this little volume is to present a few background details relating to Targ Editions, as well as some of my views on other matters"--Page [6]. "200 copies were printed, each signed by the author and the printers [Ronald Gordon (Oliphant Press), Leslie Miller (Grenfell Press), and Leonard Seastone (Tideline Press)]"--Colophon.

image coming soon

ABC of bugs and plants in a northern garden / Judy Sgantas, Claire Van Vliet, C. Andrew Miller-Brown, Audrey Holden. / Art Library Rare Books Collection: N 7433.4 .S415 A3 2012 box 3.2

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Edition limited to 120 copies, signed by the artist., Art Library has copy no. 61. A double alphabet book, with one image in black and white and a facing second alphabet image, in color, revealed by opening an opposing folded leaf, with text positioned on a center panel between the complementary images. "The ink, graphite and colored pencil drawings were digitally scanned from the originals ... Andrew Miller-Brown ... letterpress printed the text from polymer plates ... The strip binding was designed for this edition by Claire Van Vliet and executed by Audrey Holden."--Colophon.


image of cover of abc's of bugs by judy sgantas and others     image of inside of abc's of bugs by judy sgantas and others

Absence / J Meejin Yoon / Art Library Rare Books Collection: N 7433.4 .Y66 A27 2003 box 2.3

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"In memory, September 11th 2001"--Colophon. Each leaf of heavy paper stock has cut-out footprint of the World Trade Center. The first leaves consist of a single pinhole die-cut representing the antenna; the following one hundred and twenty leaves with two identical square die-cuts represent each floor of the towers, and the final leaf is a die-cut footprint of the financial district street grid surrounding the twin towers.
 

image coming soon

Alphabet cube /  Philip and Anna Morrison / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .M6973 A55 2000 box 2.2

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"Rubik's Cube of type designers with a rotating assemblage of 26 small cubes serving as the pages of the book. It features 26 type designers beginning with Arrighi and ending with Hermann Zapf. Type styles illustrated date from the early days of moveable type to the present time." Includes Rubik's Cube solution guide; housed in white pressboard box with letters of the alphabet inked on.

image coming soon

Alphabet for a belly dancer / Shu-ju Wang / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .W36 A74 2003 box 15.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Signed edition of 48, Art library has copy 41. "Bound in a pull-out accordion structure with wrap-around cover in Japanese Masa Unwaxed and French handmade paper Mouchette Almond (pale green), finished with hand-dyed rayon ribbon, coins, and beads. The protective envelope is made with a shimmering dark turquoise 89lb cover stock. Silkscreen printed with the Gocco"--Author's website.

.image coming soon

Alphabeta Concertina / Ron King / Art Library Rare Books Collection - NK 8553.5 .K56 A4 2007

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"This edition of Alphabeta Concertina is limited to 500 copies printed, cut and creased onto Heritage Book paper and glued to Heritage Museum board (both acid free stocks). The design and construction devised by Ronald King have been used in other Circle Press productions and certain letters have been re-designed since the first and second edition were published in 1983 and 1984"--Colophon.

image of cover of alphabeta concertina by ron king     image of inside of alphabeta concertina by ron king

Alphabeta concertina minuscule / Ron King / Art Library Rare Books Collection - NK 8553.5 .K56 A4 2007b

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"This edition of 'Alphabeta Concertina Minuscule' is limited to 600 copies, one hundred of which have been especially printed for Thomas Manss & Company, who were instrumental in preparing the artist's 'abc' designs ready for production. The book was printed, cut and creased and folded onto Heritage White paper and glued to Heritage Museum board (both are acid-free stocks) which were supplied by John Purcell Paper, London. The design and construction for this book have been used in both capital and lower-case letters in other Circle Press productions"--Colophon.

image of cover of alphabeta concertina minuscule by ron king     image of inside of alphabeta concertina minuscule by ron king

Amaranth / Arachne / Joan Wolbier / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .W64 A4 1983 box 7.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Beginning from the front or from the back, there is no front or back.

image of cover of amaranth / arachne by joan wolbier     image of inside of amaranth / arachne by joan wolbier

American breeding standards / Ellen Knudson, John Dimon. / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .K6258 A54 2013 box 4.2

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"American Breeding Standards explores the systemized rules about what comprises a good or bad horse, a good or bad woman--and the steps one might take to achieve the breed standard. The binding structure is an exposed spine sewn on tapes and attached to paste paper covered boards. The book was produced in 2012-2013 and printed by the artist in Gainesville, Florida. Text excerpted from American Horses and Horse Breeding by John Dimon, and from Canine Standards of the German Shepherd from the American Kennel Club. Other text and illustrations by Ellen Knudson"--Colophon.

image of cover of american breeding standards by ellen knudson     image of inside of american breeding standards by ellen knudson

Amongst the shelves / Kitty Maryatt / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.35 .U6 A56 2016

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"For the last book edition overseen by Prof. Maryatt in the collaborative series started in 1986, we decided to examine the book as an icon. We looked at significant developments in 650 years of printing history using primary sources ... The result is a small library showcasing the continuing importance of the book."-- Introduction. Grey cloth bound volume contains a small USB drive fitted into cut-out pages.

image coming soon

Anatomically correct (filtration) / Melissa Jay Craig / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .C668 A62 2003

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

One-of-a-kind. Mixed media sculptural book. "Cover is cast kozo with acrylic stain and walnut dye; raw kozo onlays Text is pigmented semi-translucent abaca progressively mixed with black cotton denim pulp; sewn to dyed visible hemp cords; dyed waxed raw silk endband."--Accompanying material..

image coming soon

ANCHORED / Jessica Spring / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .S68576 A62 2017

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"The playful structure of ANCHORED, an origami petal fold, reveals variations on the "row, row, row your boat" nursery rhyme. It was inspired by visits to see my father as he was ravaged by Alzheimer's disease. Despite losing most of his memories, the very earliest sometimes remained-like the refrain of familiar songs. Challenging pain or anxiety could be directed by a rousing round of "row, row". The last round ends the song: "just come home to me." The edition of 40 books was letterpress printed with handset type and ornaments in one large circular form on vintage maritime maps and Usuzumi paper, then cut into pages before binding." --Colophon

image coming soon

Anything helps: a limited edition artist book / Laura Russell / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .R88 A86 2013 box 15.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Limited edition of twenty-five copies, signed and numbered by the artist. Art Library has copy 18 "'Anything Helps' is a limited edition artist book surveying the cardboard signs used by panhandlers and homeless people ... It is my hope that this book will make us stop and reflect upon the lives we look at every day but never really see. As some of the most basic forms of graphic communication in our world today, homeless signs are a reminder that with a little bad luck we could easily find ourselves in similar straits--and that at times we could all use a helping hand. While collecting these signs I have met some fascinating people. I tell them that I am doing an art project with these signs. Most think that the $5 I've offered is an unbelievable sum and are happy to hand over their sign ... I also spend a few minutes talking with each person and try to listen and show that I care about his or her situation. Most are eager to share their story"--Unnumbered cards 1-5.

image coming soon

Apollo jest: an American mythology (in depth) ; eighty-eight three dimensional bubblegum cards and stereo viewer / Jim Pomeroy / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .P66 A4 1983 box 4.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"Pictures are not always what they seem; since most of these images operate as visual cognates, puns, or indirect referrals, it's important to credit the original source, author, and intention of borrowed imagery. This work is an exercise in counterpoint. The quality of its resonance owes a great deal to the richness of these original manifestations. This work does not intend to mock or parody any image represented herein, but seeks rather, to question the authority inherent in contemporary mythology. If myth's function is to resolve cultural contradiction (to crudely paraphrase Levi-Strauss), then hopefully there is something here to chew on"--Accompanying printed sheet..

image coming soon

Apollo's Stage / Amanda Barrow / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .B373 A56 1996 box 1.2, env. 2

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Limited edition of 200 copies numbered and signed by the author. Art Library has copy no. 35. "Describes the square shape's travel through time and space, as the story unfolds in the hands of the reader ... The shapes in Apollo's stage are presented as defined absences, cut away from the surrounding paper."--Artist's description.

image coming soon

Artball / Don Celender / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .C4 A4 1972 box 1.2

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Each card depicts a personality's face superimposed on a football playing card.

image of box for artball by don celender     image of cards inside artball by don celender

[Artist book] / Julius Friedman / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .F7297 A77 2012 box 2.2

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

One-of-a-kind. Created from an old book; spine and back cover intact; pages torn, some painted, and small handwritten pieces glued to some pages; secured with twine and mother-of-pearl button. Part of an exhibition of the artist's works held at the Hardscuffle Gallery, Louisville, Ky., March 11, 2012.

image coming soon

Artist's book ideation cards / Barbara Tetenbaum, Julie Chen. / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .T48 A85 2013 box 9.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"Artist's Book Ideation Cards was designed as an aid to the book artist. Use the cards to jump-start a new project or inform one that is already in progress. There are two decks in the set: category cards and adjective cards. Start by separating the cards in Deck 1 into the seven categories [text, image, structure, paper, layout, technique and color]. Place the cards face down and choose one card at random from each stack. This will give you a basic 'recipe' for your project. Then choose five adjective cards at random from Deck 2. These will give you further information to use however you decide. If you want, you can exchange one category card and one adjective card. Wild cards are included in Deck 2 to offer additional challenges"--Instructions card.

image coming soon

Artists' books at Indiana University / Indiana University / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.3 .A79 1994 box 8.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"The exhibitions and exhibition guide are a collaborative effort of the art history and studio programs of the Henry Radford Hope School of Fine Arts, the Fine Arts Library, the Indiana University Art Museum, and the Lilly Library ..."--Colophon.

cover image of artists books at Indiana University     image of inside contents of artists books at Indiana University

At the beach / Babette Katz / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .K39 A63 1988 box 10.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"A visual narrative in black and white linoleum block prints, At the Beach chronicles both the events of a day at the beach and the rise and fall of one man in a wordless cautionary tale of youth and ambition. The story begins at sunrise as the empty beach fills with people, in the midst of which an infant appears in the arms of its mother. The crowd clusters around the child, watching and supporting him as he matures into a young man. Nurtured and encouraged, the man develops lofty ambitions; he reaches - literally - for the stars. When he falls to earth, burned by the sun, he is ignored by those who raised him, who fold their umbrellas and head home, leaving him alone with the setting sun." Printed Matter.

cover image of at the beach by babette katz     image of inside of at the beach by babette katz

Atropa mandragora / Alicia Bailey / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .B33 A76 2003 box 14.2

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Edition of 5 copies. "Text and images are based on the legend of the Mandrake. The mandrake is among the most well known of magical plants. According to legend, it was moulded out of the same clay as that from which Adam was created. Madrakes [sic] have a root that resembles a human figure. Throughout history, worldwide, the mandrake has been prized for its medicinal or aphrodisiac properties, or as a talisman. The mandrake plant has opposing uses being valued both as an aphrodisiac and as an ingredient to minimize 'uncouthness' in both men and women"--Artist.

cover image of atropa mandragora by alicia bailey     side profile image of atropa mandragora by alicia bailey

Audible sound / Jan Owen / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .O94 A83 2009 box 6.2

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Edition limited to 1 copy, signed by the artist. "This hanging, accordion fold book is 60 x 6 inches when fully open. The background is acrylic paste paper with hand-lettered text in acrylic ink and sumi ink. There is a cord in the cover for hanging. Unique books in a series"--Abecedarian Gallery website viewed 4/14/2011.

cover image of audible sound by jan owen     image of inside contents of audible sound by jan owen

B


The ballad in memory / Lisa Cooper, Lisa Bowden. / Art Library Rare Books Collection - PR 6054 .A367 B3 1991 box 13.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Limited ed. of 120 copies, Art Library has copy 72.

image coming soon

Ballot box / Bonnie Thompson Norman, Dawn Hobson, Margaret Johnson, Ben Meluish, and Caroline Williams. / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .N676 B36 2014 box 9.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"Designed and produced in a class taught by Bonnie Thompson Norman in collaboration with Dawn Hobson, Margaret Johnson, Ben Meluish, and Caroline Williams"--Colophon.

image of outside of ballot box by bonnie norman and others     image of inside of ballot box by bonnie norman and others

Die bessere Hälfte: eine Ahnengalerie / Ines v Ketelhodt / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .K472 B47 2010

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"This book contains portrait photoraphs of Ines v. Ketelhodt's maternal and paternal ancestors. They were taken from paintings, drawings, etchings and epitaphs or out of the photo-albums of the v. Stosch and v. Ketelhodt famlies. Beginning with the 13th century portrait of Peterico Count Stos the following pages show his descendents toegether with their wives, leading in direct line to Ines v. Ketelhodt. The following pages show, beginning with Ines's father, his ancestors with their wives in direct line. The book ends in the 13th century with Knight Vredebern Ketelhot"--Ines von Ketelhodt, page 21, Joshua Heller Rare Books Catalogue 40, Summer 2011.

image of cover of die bessere halfte by inez v ketelhodt     image of inside contents of die bessere halfte by inez v ketelhodt

Biblio tech: reverse engineering historical and modern binding structures with a focus on board attachment / Karen Hanmer / Art Library Rare Books Collection - Z 271 .H36 2013 box 9.2

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Consists of twelve binding models with leather and various papers and sewing supports, wooden boards, and museum board. Accompanied by a 45 page illustrated booklet outlining key structural features of each binding, and providing numerous references for further study. This reference set of binding models is based on Karen Hanmer's popular workshop "Biblio tech: reverse engineering historical and modern binding structures". The models remain uncovered and only partially completed so methods of board attachment, sewing, spine lining, and endsheet construction are visible. Each model measures approximately 13 x 9 x 1 cm. Issued in an artist-made drop-spine box (30 x 20 x 9 cm) with title on paper label attached to spine of box. Illustrated guidebook is signed and numbered in ink by the artist.

image of box containing bibliotech by karen hanmer     image of bibliotech by karen hanmer

The big relay race / Michael Smith, Leendert van Lagestein. / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .S647 A4 1981 box 11.2

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Offset printed artists' book by Michael Smith with photographs by Leendert Van Lagestein.

cover image of the big relay race by michael smith and others     image of inside contents of the big relay race by michael smith and others

Biography / Sarah Bryant / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .B79 B56 2010 box 7.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"Biography is an exploration of the chemical elements in the human body and the roles they play elsewhere in the world. Each spread is a diagram describing the elements as they exist on the periodic table, the earth's crust, a variety of man-made weapons, medicines and tools, sea water, etc. Each element is identified as a specific colored rectangle and these rectangles continue through the diagrams. These diagrams [are] sometimes difficult to decode, and toward the end are interrupted by blind stamped organic shapes and pressure printing."--Artist's website.

cover image of biography by sarah bryant     image of inside contents of biography by sarah bryant

Bitter chocolate / Julie Chen, Keri Miki-Lani Schroeder. / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .C436 B57 2016

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Limited edition of 50 copies, signed and numbered. "Bitter Chocolate was written and designed by Julie Chen. Illustrations of the cacao forest and cacao pods were created by Keri Miki-Lani Schroeder. All other images were created by Julie Chen. All elements were letterpress printed from photopolymer plates on a variety of papers including Old Masters handmade paper from Papeterie Saint-Armand in Montréal, Zanders Elephant Hide and Hahnemühle Ingres"--Colophon. Commissioned for inclusion in "Just one look," an exhibition of contemporary book arts held in the Special Collections Division of the University of Washington Libraries from March 31-July 29, 2016.

cover image of bitter chocolate by julie chen and others     image of inside contents of bitter chocolate by julie chen and others

Blood on paper /  Elena Foster, Rowan Watson. / Art Library Rare Books Collection - NE 890 .B543 2008

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

This exhibition explores the place of the book in the work of great contemporary and modern artists and in so doing provides a very particular insight into the creative and conceptual processes involved.Published on occasion of the exhibition held at the Victoria and Albert Museum, 15 April - 29 June 2008. Contains reproductions of works from 38 artists, 62 books on 41 leaves..

image coming soon

Blue echo / Linda Welch / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .W445 B58 2000z box 1.2 env. 5

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Unique artists' book. Lead cover. Pages are mixed-media collage.

cover image of blue echo by linda marie welch     image of inside contents of blue echo by linda marie welch

Bluestem / Karen Hanmer, Henry Maron. / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .H352 B58 2006 box 6.2

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Edition of 25 copies, the Art Library has copy 17. Artist's book consisting of: 2 heavy stock leaves covered in paper illustrated with drawings of wild grasses; attached between these leaves are 2 strips of accordion-folded paper with similar illustration; affixed to each fold is a set of 4 transparent plastic leaves (5 x 13 cm. each) with similar illustration. An appropriate quotation from Willa Cather's My Ántonia appears on final leaf, along with colophon.

cover image of bluestem by karen hanmer and others     image of inside contents of bluestem by karen hanmer and others

Body of inquiry: a triptych opening to a corporeal codex / Casey Gardner / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .G372 B63 2011 box 12.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Limited edition of 57, Art Library has copy no. 37. A triptych opening to a corporeal codex" at head of title. "Scientifically capricious, yet unequivocally misleading reveals heretofore ineffabilities & invisibilities, fluctuating states of the microcosm, the macrocosm, and the elliptically vast metaphorical. Inspired by torso woman, a genuine anatomical model of serene evisceration, to be remotely understood ..."--Front cover.

cover image of body of inquiry by casey gardner     image of inside contents of body of inquiry by casey gardner

Boiling coffee / Richard Nonas / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .N65 A42 box 10.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"Issued in a paperback edition of 1750, a hardbound edition of 180, and a signed edition of 70 numbered copies containing two original manuscript pages"--Page [2].

cover image of boiling coffee by richard nonas     image of inside contents of boiling coffee by richard nonas

The book / Julius Friedman, Dianne Aprile, John Reeb. / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .F7297 B66 2014 box 14.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Limited edition of 20 copies, the Art Library as copy 5. "The composition and printing were by Leslie Shane and Gray Zeitz at Larkspur Press. ... Binding by Carolyn Whitesel. Exposed spine binding: signatures handsewn with waxed linen thread around black tape. Covers: black Japanese book cloth over boards with attached metal plates. (Aluminum photographic title and copper images created by Julius Friedman.)"--Colophon. Photographic print inserted in book. In wooden box handmade in cherry by John Reeb (33 x 26 x 9 cm.).

cover image of the book by julius friedman and others     image of the book by julius friedman and others

Boston globe, November 5, 2006 / Amanda Nelsen / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .N457 B67 2006 box 14.2

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

One-of-a-kind. Issued in a box; title from label inside box. "Laminated boards made from the advertisement section of one Sunday Boston globe surround the reconfigured text block. The text block is sewn on double reaised cords with handsewn endbands."--Abecedarian Gallery catalog.

cover image of boston globe, november 5, 2006 by amanda nelsen     image of boston globe, november 5, 2006 by amanda nelsen

Bravo / Fred Hagstrom, Joel M Weisberg. / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .H338 B73 2016

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Limited ed. of 31 copies, Art Library has copy 18. "Bravo is the about the legacy of nuclear testing in the Marshall Islands. The Castle Bravo test in 1954, along with 8 years of previous nuclear tests, left the islands with terrible problems of nuclear contamination. Islanders have suffered removal from their homes, and high rates of cancers and birth defects. The U.S. government knowingly relocated them to contaminated islands. ... Most of the quotes come from interviews in two films - Nuclear Savage and Half Life. Some of the quotes come from articles my friend in physics found from science journals ... The images are carved into plastic plates and printed relief. The cover is intaglio, printed from 3 collagraph plates. The end pages are relief, each printed from 4 relief plates. The only silkscreen images are for the title page and the colophon. The text is printed in silkscreen over a base of relief printing from wood. The main pages with the images each have 4 layers--3 in stages of gray, plus the black key block"--Fred Hagstrom, http://www.vampandtramp.com/finepress/s/strong-silent-type-press.html.

image coming soon

 

A butterfly careless / Andrew J Gay, Dudley Zopp. / Art Library Rare Books Collection - PS 3557 .A97 B87 2001 box 13.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Edition limited to 174 numbered copies signed by the author and the artist. "Images from original ink monotypes are printed as offset duotones ... The slipcase is ... stamped in foil with an original monotype laid into a debossed panel"--Colophon.

image coming soon

C


Canine terminology : what I'm really saying is... / Elizabeth Riggle / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .R554 C35 2008 box 1.2 env. 6

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Limited edition. Illustrated cover; pages folded to create a meander maze book.

cover image of canine terminology by elizabeth riggle     image of inside contents of canine terminology by elizabeth riggle

Catalogue 2007 / Christine Kermaire / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .K4725 C37 2007 box 1.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Bound in green faux fur; small yellow booklet attached to front binding by wire.

cover image of catalogue 2007 by christine kermaire     image of inside contents of catalogue 2007 by christine kermaire

Cè / Irene Chan / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .C417 C4 1998 box 6.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Edition of 70, Art Library has copy 63.The illustrated book, folded paper square with prints on accordion-folded sheet, and small glassine envelope holding flower stamens, fit into a drawstring purse made of paper. Issued in a box.

image coming soon

Um cearense em Brasília / Abraão Batista / Art Library Rare Books Collection - PQ 9698.12 .A83 C417 1989 box 4.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"Brasília, Palácio da Poesia, XVIII Festival Nacional de repentistas Campeões e Poetas Cordelistas, 28, 29 e 30 de julho de 1989"--Page 8.

image coming soon

Cell memory / Macy Chadwick / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .C415 C45 2002 box 4.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Edition of 100, Art Library has copy 85. "Cell Memory is an artist's book about the microscopic world of the cell and distant memories. Circular die-cut pages, ethereal imagery, and poetry evoke the sense of unconscious memories residing within the cell"--Artist's website, May 18, 2017, http://www.macychadwick.com/artistsbooks/cellmemory.html

image of inside of cell memory by Macy Chadwick     image of cell memory by Macy Chadwick

City shields / Louise Levergneux / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .L487 C57 2001 box 9.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Images of manhole covers collected through miles of walking around Scotland and USA. Art Library has v.4:no.1 (Scotland),v.US15:no.1 (United States)

image coming soon

Clair de lune / Aroldo Marinai, Silvia Marilli. / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .M364 C52 1982 box 1.2 env. 5

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Limited ed. of 500 copies.

image coming soon

Climb / Nora Lee McGillivray / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .M3164 C54 1997 box 1.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Limited edition of 100 numbered and initialed copies, Art Library has copy 15. Poem printed on sheet illustrated in the form of a ladder covered with brambles; sheet printed on one side and folded horizontally in portfolio format, each page folding onto the others; in portfolio.

cover image of climb by nora lee mcgillivray     image of inside contents of climb by nora lee mcgillivray

A colorful tale / Barbara Tetenbaum / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .T476 C65 2014 box 3.1

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Limited edition of 65 copies, numbered and signed by the artist, Art Library has copy 2. "This book illuminates how few words are needed to ignite the imagination of the reader. It is part of a larger body of work that I have created in this direction since 1994 which I refer to as 'text paintings'. 'A Colorful Tale' was created for an exhibition ENGAGE: Color, Ritual & Material Studies at Kutztown University in Pennsylvania (November 2014). It uses a stark white paper with a special 'hammered' surface for both text block and the entire case binding"--Artist's statement at the 23 Sandy Gallery website, viewed on March 20, 2015.

image coming soon

Completing the circle / Philomena Robinson / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .R614 C66 1996 box 2.2

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Text includes original prose and free verse as well as quotations from Alta, Brian Andreas, Lewis Carrol, Jeanne Foster, Marge Piercy, Rainer Maria Rilke, and W.B. Yeats.

image coming soon

Cosmology / Helen Hiebert, Carl Adamshick / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .H533 C67 2012 box 16.2

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

Limited edition of 50 numbered copies, signed by artist and author. "This one sheet book structure has always intrigued me, and I have a particular love of Japanese shoji screens. The shoji pattern creates a window and the book structure creates a room or space. I wanted words to tie it all together"--23 Sandy Gallery Website, viewed on May 18, 2012.

image coming soon

Crossing the Tigris / Jeffrey W. Morin, Caren Heft, Brian Borchardt / Art Library Rare Books Collection - N 7433.4 .M67 C76 2011 box 5.2

  • Style
  • Material
  • Technique

"The container for this collaboration is meant to embody the conundrum of this person who transforms into a beast capable of horrendous acts against innocents. The outside of the container is collaged in the same way that a boy might decorate his hiding place for treasures found. The elements, like currency, targets, or stamps, are in the realm of childhood values. The inside of the container sets the stage for juvenile battle. These are the props for pretend war. When confronted with the grittiness of war, do these ill-prepared young men simply break with reality? Are they taught that they are above the law? Or do they learn to devalue what is not obviously American? Neither the container nor the three books answer the questions posed above. We all know young soldiers who have served or those who could serve. This collaboration is intended to catalyze a conversation about the nature of change that allows potentially decent people to commit indecent acts"--Statement from the publishers at Vamp & Tramp Booksellers' website, viewed on February 4, 2015.

image of crossing the tigris by jeffery w. morin and others     image of inside contents of crossing the tigris by jeffery w morin and others

Discover. Create. Succeed.