- Libraries list
- Accounts list
Fundamentals of Computational Intelligence by
Provides an in-depth and even treatment of the three pillars of computational intelligence and how they relate to one another This book covers the three fundamental topics that form the basis of computational intelligence: neural networks, fuzzy systems, and evolutionary computation. The text focuses on inspiration, design, theory, and practical aspects of implementing procedures to solve real-world problems. While other books in the three fields that comprise computational intelligence are written by specialists in one discipline, this book is co-written by current former Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Neural Networks and Learning Systems, a former Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Fuzzy Systems, and the founding Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Evolutionary Computation. The coverage across the three topics is both uniform and consistent in style and notation. Discusses single-layer and multilayer neural networks, radial-basis function networks, and recurrent neural networks Covers fuzzy set theory, fuzzy relations, fuzzy logic interference, fuzzy clustering and classification, fuzzy measures and fuzzy integrals Examines evolutionary optimization, evolutionary learning and problem solving, and collective intelligence Includes end-of-chapter practice problems that will help readers apply methods and techniques to real-world problems Fundamentals of Computational intelligence is written for advanced undergraduates, graduate students, and practitioners in electrical and computer engineering, computer science, and other engineering disciplines.
Security of Block Ciphers by
A comprehensive evaluation of information security analysis spanning the intersection of cryptanalysis and side-channel analysis Written by authors known within the academic cryptography community, this book presents the latest developments in current research Unique in its combination of both algorithmic-level design and hardware-level implementation; this all-round approach - algorithm to implementation - covers security from start to completion Deals with AES (Advanced Encryption standard), one of the most used symmetric-key ciphers, which helps the reader to learn the fundamental theory of cryptanalysis and practical applications of side-channel analysis
Principles of Object-Oriented Modeling and Simulation with Modelica 3. 3 by
Fritzson covers the Modelica language in impressive depth from the basic concepts such as cyber-physical, equation-base, object-oriented, system, model, and simulation, while also incorporating over a hundred exercises and their solutions for a tutorial, easy-to-read experience. The only book with complete Modelica 3.3 coverage Over one hundred exercises and solutions Examines basic concepts such as cyber-physical, equation-based, object-oriented, system, model, and simulation
Biomechanics and Motor Control by
Biomechanics and Motor Control: Defining Central Concepts provides a thorough update to the rapidly evolving fields of biomechanics of human motion and motor control with research published in biology, psychology, physics, medicine, physical therapy, robotics, and engineering consistently breaking new ground. This book clarifies the meaning of the most frequently used terms, and consists of four parts, with part one covering biomechanical concepts, including joint torques, stiffness and stiffness-like measures, viscosity, damping and impedance, and mechanical work and energy. Other sections deal with neurophysiological concepts used in motor control, such as muscle tone, reflex, pre-programmed reactions, efferent copy, and central pattern generator, and central motor control concepts, including redundancy and abundance, synergy, equilibrium-point hypothesis, and motor program, and posture and prehension from the field of motor behavior. The book is organized to cover smaller concepts within the context of larger concepts. For example, internal models are covered in the chapter on motor programs. Major concepts are not only defined, but given context as to how research came to use the term in this manner.
Introduction to Neural Engineering for Motor Rehabilitation by
Neural engineering is a discipline that uses engineering techniques to understand, repair, replace, enhance, or treat diseases of neural systems. Currently, no book other than this one covers this broad range of topics within motor rehabilitation technology. With a focus on cutting edge technology, it describes state-of-the-art methods within this field, from brain-computer interfaces to spinal and cortical plasticity. Touching on electrode design, signal processing, the neurophysiology of movement, robotics, and much more, this innovative volume collects the latest information for a wide range of readers working in biomedical engineering.
Tesla by
Nikola Tesla was a major contributor to the electrical revolution that transformed daily life at the turn of the twentieth century. His inventions, patents, and theoretical work formed the basis of modern AC electricity, and contributed to the development of radio and television. Like his competitor Thomas Edison, Tesla was one of America's first celebrity scientists, enjoying the company of New York high society and dazzling the likes of Mark Twain with his electrical demonstrations. An astute self-promoter and gifted showman, he cultivated a public image of the eccentric genius. Even at the end of his life when he was living in poverty, Tesla still attracted reporters to his annual birthday interview, regaling them with claims that he had invented a particle-beam weapon capable of bringing down enemy aircraft. Plenty of biographies glamorize Tesla and his eccentricities, but until now none has carefully examined what, how, and why he invented. In this groundbreaking book, W. Bernard Carlson demystifies the legendary inventor, placing him within the cultural and technological context of his time, and focusing on his inventions themselves as well as the creation and maintenance of his celebrity. Drawing on original documents from Tesla's private and public life, Carlson shows how he was an "idealist" inventor who sought the perfect experimental realization of a great idea or principle, and who skillfully sold his inventions to the public through mythmaking and illusion. This major biography sheds new light on Tesla's visionary approach to invention and the business strategies behind his most important technological breakthroughs.
Periodic Structures by
Provides readers an understanding of the basic physics underlying meta-materials, providing a powerful tool for analyzing their electromagnetic properties Periodic Structures: Mode-Matching Approach and Applications in Electromagnetic Engineering presents the scattering and guiding characteristics of periodic structures using the mode-matching approach and their applications in electromagnetic engineering. The book is structured so that the first three chapters provide an introduction and prepare the reader for chapters 4 to 6, which expand the formulations to electromagnetic and optical structures applicable to practical device applications. The last chapters cover very recent research topics in electromagnetics and optics. Provides an analytic approach to describing the operation of photonic crystals and related periodic structures Covers guided and leaky mode propagation in periodic surroundings, from fundamentals to practical device applications Demostrates formulation of the periodic system and applications to practical electromagnetic / optical devices, even further to metamaterials Introduces the evolution of periodic structures and their applications in microwave, millimeter wave and THz. Written by a high-impact author in electromagnetics and optics Contains mathematical derivations which can be applied directly to MATLAB programs Ideal for Graduate students and advanced undergraduates in electronic engineering, optics, physics, and applied physics, or researchers working with periodic structures
Fourier Ptychographic Imaging by
This book demonstrates the concept of Fourier ptychography, a new imaging technique that bypasses the resolution limit of the employed optics. In particular, it transforms the general challenge of high-throughput, high-resolution imaging from one that is coupled to the physical limitations of the optics to one that is solvable through computation. Demonstrated in a tutorial form and providing many MATLAB#65533; simulation examples for the reader, it also discusses the experimental implementation and recent developments of Fourier ptychography. This book will be of interest to researchers and engineers learning simulation techniques for Fourier optics and the Fourier ptychography concept.
Multiphysics Simulation by Design for Electrical Machines, Power Electronics and Drives by
Presents applied theory and advanced simulation techniques for electric machines and drives This book combines the knowledge of experts from both academia and the software industry to present theories of multiphysics simulation by design for electrical machines, power electronics, and drives. The comprehensive design approach described within supports new applications required by technologies sustaining high drive efficiency. The highlighted framework considers the electric machine at the heart of the entire electric drive. The book also emphasizes the simulation by design concept--a concept that frames the entire highlighted design methodology, which is described and illustrated by various advanced simulation technologies. Multiphysics Simulation by Design for Electrical Machines, Power Electronics and Drives begins with the basics of electrical machine design and manufacturing tolerances. It also discusses fundamental aspects of the state of the art design process and includes examples from industrial practice. It explains FEM-based analysis techniques for electrical machine design--providing details on how it can be employed in ANSYS Maxwell software. In addition, the book covers advanced magnetic material modeling capabilities employed in numerical computation; thermal analysis; automated optimization for electric machines; and power electronics and drive systems. This valuable resource: Delivers the multi-physics know-how based on practical electric machine design methodologies Provides an extensive overview of electric machine design optimization and its integration with power electronics and drives Incorporates case studies from industrial practice and research and development projects Multiphysics Simulation by Design for Electrical Machines, Power Electronics and Drives is an incredibly helpful book for design engineers, application and system engineers, and technical professionals. It will also benefit graduate engineering students with a strong interest in electric machines and drives.
Design, Control and Application of Modular Multilevel Converters for HVDC Transmission Systems by
Design, Control and Application of Modular Multilevel Converters for HVDC Transmission Systems is a comprehensive guide to semiconductor technologies applicable for MMC design, component sizing control, modulation, and application of the MMC technology for HVDC transmission. Separated into three distinct parts, the first offers an overview of MMC technology, including information on converter component sizing, Control and Communication, Protection and Fault Management, and Generic Modelling and Simulation. The second covers the applications of MMC in offshore WPP, including planning, technical and economic requirements and optimization options, fault management, dynamic and transient stability. Finally, the third chapter explores the applications of MMC in HVDC transmission and Multi Terminal configurations, including Supergrids. Key features: Unique coverage of the offshore application and optimization of MMC-HVDC schemes for the export of offshore wind energy to the mainland. Comprehensive explanation of MMC application in HVDC and MTDC transmission technology. Detailed description of MMC components, control and modulation, different modeling approaches, converter dynamics under steady-state and fault contingencies including application and housing of MMC in HVDC schemes for onshore and offshore. Analysis of DC fault detection and protection technologies, system studies required for the integration of HVDC terminals to offshore wind power plants, and commissioning procedures for onshore and offshore HVDC terminals. A set of self-explanatory simulation models for HVDC test cases is available to download from the companion website. This book provides essential reading for graduate students and researchers, as well as field engineers and professionals who require an in-depth understanding of MMC technology.