Art, Design & Architecture Databasese

(see also ALL DATABASES)

AATA Online

Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts provides peer-reviewed abstracts of the international literature of conservation and heritage management. (The Getty) More InformationMore information

African American Biographical Database

Contains extended narratives of African American activists, business people, former slaves, performing artists, educators, lawyers, physicians, writers, church leaders, homemakers, religious workers, government workers, athletes, farmers, scientists, factory workers, and more--both the famous and the everyday person. (Chadwyck-Healey) More InformationMore information

Alt-PressWatch

Alt-PressWatch is a full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. It complements and challenges the coverage of the mainstream media and serves a broad spectrum of subject areas. Funded by KyVL - Kentucky
Virtual Library. More InformationMore information

American National Biography

In the American National Biography "American" is loosely defined as someone whose significant actions occurred during his or her residence within what is now the United States or whose life or career directly influenced the course of American history. Over 26,000 biographical sketches including artists and architects. (Oxford University Press) More info

American Periodical Series

Full-text of articles in periodicals published between 1741 and 1900. 1,000 titles include Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, the first American professional journals, and several consumer magazines still in publication, such as Vanity Fair, Harper's, and Ladies' Home Journal. More InformationMore information

Année Philologique

Bibliography of publications since 1969 in the area of classical studies. More InformationMore information

ArchivesUSA

Provides information about primary source materials from over 5,400 US manuscript repositories of American history and politics literature. ArchivesUSA includes records, complete with detailed indexes, about over 118,000 manuscript and other special collections. More InformationMore information

Art Abstracts

Indexes scholarly articles in art, architecture, design, film and crafts from all time periods and countries. Covers 1984 - present. Also searches Art Index Retrospective covering 1929-1984. (H. W. Wilson) More InformationMore information

ARTbibliographies Modern

Index and abstracts of 500 major art journals, museum bulletins, exhibition catalogs and books covering all aspects of 20th-century art. More InformationMore information

Art Index Retrospective

Indexes scholarly articles in art, architecture, design, film and crafts from all time periods and countries. Indexes from 1929 - 1984. Also searches Art Abstracts covering 1984 - present. (H.W. Wilson) More InformationMore information

Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Indexes articles from over 1200 journals. Includes and is searchable by references cited in each article. (Web of Science) More InformationMore information

A-V Online

"[A] comprehensive database of educational audiovisual materials for educators, market analysts, trainers, journalists, and media specialists." (SilverPlatter) More InformationMore information

Avery Index (Architecture)

Indexes more than 2500 journals, including all major scholarly journals on architecture and design, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation and interior design. Coverage is from 1741 to the present. More InformationMore information

Bibliography of the History of Art

Provides citations and abstracts to the literature of the visual arts and material culture from late antiquity (4th century A.D.) to the present, in Europe and the New World successors to the Greco-Roman world. Also contains RAA and RILA records from 1975 until they merged to become BHA in 1991. (SilverPlatter) More InformationMore information

Biography Reference Bank

"Contains more than 95,000 biographies and obituaries and more than 26,000 photographs of the subjects. Many of the biographies are enhanced with full text, abstracts, and citations." Funded by KyVL - Kentucky Virtual Library.(H.W. Wilson) More InformationMore information

Book Review Digest Plus

Descriptive summaries of books as well as excerpts of book reviews, with all the book review citations and full text of book reviews from eleven other H. W. Wilson indexes. More InformationMore information

Books In Print

Complete bibliographic records from over 44,000 publishers. (FirstSearch) More InformationMore information

Dissertations

Dyabola

Dyabola indexes books and articles on classical and medieval art, archaeology and the humanities. It is compiled at the German Archaeological Institute in Rome. This is a freely available web site.

EBSCO Academic

Indexing and abstracts for over 3200 publications with full-text for over half of the publications. Funded by KyVL - Kentucky
Virtual Library. (EBSCOhost) More InformationMore information

ERIC

Journal articles and reports in education. All versions cover 1966 to the present. Some full-text. (EBSCOhost) More InformationMore information

Grove Dictionary of Art Online (also called Oxford Art Online)

Contains more than 40,000 articles on all aspects of art and culture, including information on people and places, surveys of art in all countries, maps, diagrams and links to images on the Internet. More InformationMore information

Hispanic American Periodicals Index

Indexes articles and other materials covering information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. (HAPI) More InformationMore information

Humanities Index

An index of articles in the humanities. (H.W. Wilson) More InformationMore information

In the First Person

Over 2500 oral-history collections are indexed, with links to full-text and some links to audio and visual files. Interviews with over 9,000 individuals, including artists, architects and photographers, are available along with information on the collections and respositories from which they come. More infoMore info

Index Islamicus

Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world--both works written about the Middle East as well as about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts) More InformationMore information

Index of Christian Art

The Index of Christian Art is an iconographic, descriptive and bibliographic database that indexes works of art from early apostolic times to 1400 AD. Records include bibliography, references to reproductions and a growing number of links to images.(Princeton University) More InformationMore information

International Index to Black Periodicals

Includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of 40 core Black Studies periodicals. (Chadwyck-Healey) More InformationMore information

International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)

Indexes more than 200 international performing arts periodicals plus performing arts related items from The New York Times and The Washington Post. Includes some full-text articles. (Chadwyck-Healey) More InformationMore information

Iter-Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Index to interdisciplinary literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Includes articles, bibliographies, books, catalogues, editions, abstracts, and discographies. More InformationMore information

JSTOR

Full-text articles from journals in a variety of disciplines, from the journals' first issues through the late 1990's. (Acrobat Reader needed to print.) More InformationMore information

The Left Index

"The Left Index is a[n] ... index to the contents of periodicals of the left. Journals selected for inclusion in the index have a Marxist, radical or left perspective..." More InformationMore information

Mergent Online

Current and historical global business and financial database of 11,000 U.S. public companies and 17,000 non-U.S. companies from Mergent. Helpful for graphic design students looking for examples of annual report design. More InformationMore information

Minerva

Catalog of items owned by the seven University of Louisville Libraries.

MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography indexes books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics. (Chadwyck-Healey) More info

Index to books, dissertation and articles in over 3000 journals on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. (FirstSearch) More InformationMore information

Newsbank Newspapers

Full-text local and regional U.S. newspapers More InformationMore information

Periodicals Index Online

Indexes the contents of older issues (1770-1995) of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. (Chadwyck-Healey) More info

Perseus Digital Library

Perseus makes a wide range of source materials available at this free web site, including Greek and Roman texts and images.

Perseus

Extensive resources for exploring ancient Greek art and culture. (CD-ROM available at the Art Library)

Project MUSE

Full-text of articles from 1990 forward in over 110 journals covering Arts, Sciences (including medicine and mathematics), Humanities and Social Sciences. More InformationMore information

ProQuest Digital Dissertations

Formerly known as Dissertations Abstracts International. Contains 1.6 million citations for dissertations and theses from over 1,000 graduate schools. Provides indexing back to 1861 and full-text availability to titles back to 1997 (full-text availability varies by author's institution). Free full-text downloads can be sent to an email account. Database Help More info

ProQuest Direct

Includes a cross-section of general periodicals, ABI/INFORM business periodicals, and several national newspapers in full-text. More InformationMore information

ProQuest Research Library

Search for coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Some full-text. Includes the database formerly known as Periodical Abstracts. (ProQuest) More InformationMore information

Sanborn Maps - Kentucky Collection

Sanborn fire insurance maps are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. Includes maps for many Kentucky cities and date from the 1890s to the 1950s. Full-text images of the maps are provided. More InformationMore information

TOCS-IN (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists)

TOCS-IN provides tables of contents for about 160 journals in Classics, Near Eastern Studies and religion. This freely available web site is a good source for current bibliography.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory

"Profiles a quarter of a million academic journals, professional monographic series, electronic publications, conference proceedings, consumer magazines, newsletters, newspapers, 'zines, and other serials. Each entry includes publishing information, price, start date, whether the item is refereed, where it is indexed, and much more." (R.R. Bowker) More InformationMore information

University of Louisville Electronic Theses and Dissertations

Collection of digital copies of both recent and retrospective University of Louisville (UofL) theses and dissertations. Additions are welcome from UofL authors. To search for all UofL theses and dissertations (print and electronic) see Minerva. More info

Wellesley Index

A bibliography of articles published in 45 major 19th century British monthlies and quarterlies covering a variety of topics in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Because many articles were published anonymously, the database includes an index to the authorship of the articles with supporting evidence and brief biographical details. (ProQuest) More info

Who's Who on the Web

Includes Who's Who in American Art along with comprehensive profiles on over 1 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science & technology, entertainment and sports. Search by name, gender, occupation, geography, hobbies and interests, religion and much more. (Marquis) More info

WorldCat

Books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Funded by KyVL - Kentucky
Virtual Library. (FirstSearch) More InformationMore information

 

 

Margaret M. Bridwell Art Library | Schneider Hall | University of Louisville | Louisville, KY 40292 | 502-852-6741
Site Index | Contact Us